Tomato Chilli Jam

This jam sounds stranger than it is. Actually, it’s just a cross between ketchup and sweet chili sauce, which probably doesn’t sound very appealing either. Hmm, it’s nothing pretentious, it’s just a surprisingly nice condiment for cheese, (toasted) cheese-sandwiches, chicken, pork, eggs or anything you can think of. Combines perfectly with coriander. The original recipes tells you to only blend half of the tomatoes and add the other half in small cubes afterwards, but I like my jam to be smooth, so I blend all tomatoes.


RECIPE

500g very ripe tomatoes
4 cloves of garlic, peeled
4 red chillies (or more or less)
2 t finely chopped ginger
30ml fish sauce
300g caster sugar
100ml red wine vinegar (I used Chinese red vinegar)

  • Blend the skinned, whole tomatoes in a food processor along with the garlic, chillies, ginger and fish sauce until the mixture reaches a puree consistency. I blended it for about 2 minutes. (because you need the pits in the tomatoes for their pectin, we won’t sieve the mixture and that’s why I prefer to skin the tomatoes. If you’re less fussy, then don’t bother)
  • Pour the mixture into a pan together with the sugar and vinegar. Bring to the boil and slowly stir. Once the mixture has reached boiling point, reduce to a simmer and cook for 30-40 minutes, stirring from time to time to prevent sticking. But in the meanwhile, taste to see if your chillies were hot enough or whether you need some more fish sauce of vinegar. I added a Madame Jeanette, cause my chillies lacked heat.
  • Pour the mixture into a warmed sterilized jars (about 2 x 250 ml). When cooled to room temperature, close the jars and refrigerate. You can keep this jam for quite some time. Weeks if not months.

From: The Sugar Club Cookbook by Peter Gordon.

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in Homemade and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tomato Chilli Jam

  1. Marc says:

    Looks like a sweet nice recipe, any change you’ll be attending the underground boerenmarkt? (http://www.talkinfood.nl/weblog.php) If yes, bring this along! :)

    Oh, did you see the question by bloatedface (thats me) here: http://forum.fok.nl/topic/1391479/1/50#80420630 ?

    I love tokowijzer btw… ;)

  2. Robin says:

    I thought the underground boerenmarkt was this weekend! And this weekend I could not make it. But next month, maybe, who knows.
    But then I’d say Caramelized walnuts are a better choice. No? Nice as a snack, but also perfect to go with the goatscheese in the next stand. ;-)

    Thanks you for loving the Tokowijzer. I love it too. :-)

  3. Marc says:

    Oh f*ck… I guess I missed it as well… :s let me know if you’ll attend next time. ;)

  4. Robin says:

    Aha, I’m not the only one who’s confused! But no, we didn’t miss it, I’m pretty sure it’s may 16th. So next month.

  5. Marc says:

    Luckily my phone has a reminder/calendar thing… just added the right date. Thanks for pointing to Madhur Jaffrey, will definitely check out her recipes.

  6. Jan says:

    Hi,

    Yesterday i made this jam because i had alot of tomatoes left in the garden. I didn’t have all the other ingrediens so i made a few changes. ginger ->ginger sirop, caster sugar -> cane sugar and red wine vinegar by rice vinegar. I used 4 Peper Ghana Round ( http://ruudendiana.webs.com/databasepeperseh.htm )
    Whene i was ready i discoverd i made a big mistake……….. I made far to less jam, because it is delicious:-) The chillies i used are not really hot, and the jam now tastes like babi pangang sauce, which I tried to make for years, without succes.

    Thanks,
    Jan

  7. Robin says:

    Hahahaha! That’s funny. Are you really gonna try making babi pangang with it? Would you try to spice it up next time or do you like it as mellow as it is?

  8. Jan says:

    Next time i will do both. 1 spice en 1 babi pangang style. Think the spice one would be very nice on bread togetter with peanutbutter, or does this sound very strange?
    By the way. Do you have any idea which meat is the best to use making babi pangang and how? Untill now i’am not getting the crips meat i would like to get.

  9. Robin says:

    I’m no expert on babi pangang. As a child I didn’t like it because I hardly liked anything, then later on I thought it was too fatty and nowadays I think it’s too dutch-chinese-restaurantish. ;-)

    But what I’ve always understood is that you should use a big piece of pork belly (buikspek) and slowroast it in the oven until both soft and crispy.

Leave a comment