Dutch Mooncakes (gevulde speculaas)

Dutch Mooncake Experiment

I have these old molds for Chinese mooncakes and yesterday I finally took up on my brilliant idea to use them to make “dutch mooncakes”. Okay, the only thing Chinese would have been the molds, but still, from the outside Chinese mooncakes always reminded me of our “gevulde speculaas”, brown spice cake-like cookie filled with almond paste. 

But apparently there is a big difference in the consistency of the dough. That’s where my brilliant idea turn out to be not so brilliant, hihi. My beautifully shaped dutch mooncakes with  lovely patterns on top turned into not so nicely shaped blobs.  Still delicious though! So here’s the recipe. In the Netherlands we can buy ready-made almond paste and speculaas-spices, so it doesn’t have to be a project. But even when you make it from scratch, it’s not that difficult or time consuming as it looks.


RECIPE

1. Make almond paste a week in advance (or buy it ready-made)
2. Mix & grind the spices (or buy it already blended)
3. Make dough a day in advance (or at least half hour in advance)
4. Fill the baking tray, bake in oven.

It’s a great treat during our cold & dark winters.

1. PREPARING ALMOND PASTE (amandelspijs)

Grinding almonds with sugar
 

100g blanched & peeled almonds (or ground almond)
100g sugar
2 T Amaretto (almond liqueur)
2 T fresh lemon juice
zest of 1 lemon

Grind everything together in your kitchen blender to the right constancy. What that is is difficult to explain. Smooth, but still a little bit gritty, if it’s too fine it’s called marzipan.

2. BLENDING SPECULAAS-SPICES (speculaaskruiden)

"Speculaas" spice-mixture

15 gr cinnamon
2 gr cloves
2 gr nutmeg
1 gr white peppercorn
1 gr ginger powder
½ gr cardamom seeds (from the green pods)
 
Grind in old coffee grinder or mortar. This will be enough for about twice the amount of dough in the recipe below.
 
3. MAKING SPECULAAS DOUGH

Speculaasdeeg

200 gr flour
125 gr muscovado sugar (dark brown sugar)
2 T speculaas spices
150 gr cold butter, diced
2 T milk
1 t baking powder
pinch of salt

Mix everything together into a nice, soft dough. Make a ball, cover with cling foil and let it rest for at least half an hour in the refrigerator, but preferably 24 hours. The dough will absorb more of the lovely spices.

4. ASSEMBLING & BAKING

Filling pastry

Preheat oven at 175°C
Divide the dough in two. Roll out the first piece of dough into a shape that will cover your baking tray, about 5-10 mm thick. Grease your baking tray and dust with some flour and/or cover with baking paper. Take the rolled out dough and cover the bottom and sides of baking tray. You can also clay it into the baking tray if it’s too tough to roll. Take the almond paste and roll & mold it in your hands, it will get a little bit softer and easier to handle, fill the baking tray with a layer of almond paste. Add the second rolled out piece of dough on top. Try to close the edges a little bit if you can. Brush with egg wash. Decorate with almond halves and bake in about 30 minutes in the 175°C oven.
Update: when using a tin or baking tray, it probably needs about 10 minutes longer.

5. UPDATE

Gevulde Speculaas

Had some leftover almond paste, so I decided to try using a baking tin, as I suggested here above. In this case a little springform cake tin. I think it looked very cute, but maybe because it’s in a tin it should be in the oven for a longer time? Maybe 40 minutes instead of 30? It all depends on the thickness of your cake too.

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in Dessert, Other Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Dutch Mooncakes (gevulde speculaas)

  1. Carla says:

    Een prachtig verslag weer. In woord en beeld. Complimenten en dank. Ik koop het wel bij de banketbakker, de mannen vinden het erg lekker. Ikzelf minder.

  2. Dat ziet er werkelijk heerlijk uit. Kijken of ik nog amandelspijs in de diepvries heb liggen (en of die dan nog te vreten is na… 1 jaar?)

  3. Robin says:

    @ Carla. Dank je! Maar zelf maken kan ook heel leuk zijn. En ik ben bijvoorbeeld benieuwd wat liefhebbers als jou mannen zouden vinden van zo’n kruidige, zelfgemaakte variant. ;)

    @ Kattebelletje. Amandelspijs in de vriezer is vast nog goed. Het zal geen topkwaliteit zijn, maar bedorven is het niet. Misschien een eierdooiertje doorheen kneden om de vriesschade wat te maskeren. En ach, zo’n investering is het nou ook weer niet he, boter, meel, suiker. Gewon doen!

  4. Yvon says:

    Wow wat een werk heb je er weer van gemaakt. Ik ga aan de slag hiermee voor pakjesavond, maar dan met kant-en-klare amandelspijs en speculaaskruiden.

  5. Labelga says:

    Hier beland via Binnur en kattebelletjes Toko. Ben wel niet zo zoet, maar voor marsepein enzo maak ik graag een uitzondering, dus dit kan ik eens proberen.

  6. Robin says:

    Veel mensen houden juist niet van marsepein en amandelspijs, maar als jij dat juist wel lekker vindt, dat is dit misschien wel wat voor je ja. Laat je weten hoe het was?

  7. RozeMarijn says:

    Ziet er erg lekker uit. :)

  8. Eliza says:

    I have made your recipe, although did not have Chinese moon cake forms. How lovely they are and where can I get them? The gevulde speculaas was a big hit with my family and friends on Christmas eve and day. Bedankt hoor. Your instructions and photos are wonderful.

  9. Robin says:

    That’s nice to hear! Maybe gevulde speculaas will conquer the world! I found these moulds at an antique market in Beijing. But I’ve seen modern moulds at chinese supplyshops too. But for gevulde speculaas you shouldn’t bother, because really, the form won’t hold when you bake it. Maybe the photo above isn’t illustrative to that, but here you can see how the others turned out: before & after photo.
    Not very pretty. I think it looks much better when baked in a form and decorated with half almonds or almond flakes.

  10. Chris says:

    Dutch Mooncake.. hahaha.. that’s so cute.. to bad mid autumn festival has passed already.. I’ve made my share of mooncakes this year..Maybe next year ;)

  11. Robin says:

    Maybe it will become a big hit! I’m dreaming of dutch mooncakes conquering the world. ;-)

  12. Jetty says:

    Ha, dat lijkt me wel lekker, ga ik ook eens maken.
    Waarom moet je het amandelspijs een week vantevoren maken en waar kun je het dan het beste bewaren?

  13. Robin says:

    Je kunt het wel meteen gebruiken, maar het schijnt lekkerder te zijn als je het laat rijpen. Even opgezocht in de Dikke van Dam. Die zegt daarover: “de massa moet nog een beetje rijpen voor het optimaal is. In dit geval betekent rijpen zuur worden, vrees ik: door de verzuring ontstaan invertsuikers waardoor de massa wat taaier wordt en langer mals blijft, hier bij uitzondering een gelukkige combinatie.”

    En euh, in de ijskast dus. Je kunt overgebleven amandelspijs ook invriezen.

  14. SHE says:

    God damnit. Ik krijg dit recept niet uit mijn hoofd.

    Vraag: In jouw optiek he; zelf de kruiden samenstellen, of kant en klare speculaaskruiden gebruiken?

    Dan weet ik of ik morgen naar de markt moet ;)

  15. Robin says:

    Ik vind de kant-en-klare speculaaskruiden altijd iets “laffer” dan wanneer je het zelf maakt. Dat komt niet alleen door de prijs (sommige ingrediënten zijn goedkoper dan de andere), maar ook door de “laffe smaak” van de gemiddelde Nederlander. Die houdt bijvoorbeeld niet van kardemom, of uitgesproken kruidnagel of nootmuskaat. En dus bestaan kant-en-klare speculaaskruiden vooral uit kaneel. Denk ik.

    Aan de andere kant, zelfs met kant-en-klare speculaaskruiden zal het nog steeds een lekker recept zijn. :-)

  16. Ferry says:

    Je kan natuurlijk ook de kant-en-klaar-mix aanvullen naar eigen smaak. Ik gebruik zelf altijd wat kencur/kentjoer om het wat op te leuken.

  17. Robin says:

    Dat is ook een idee ja!

  18. Merel says:

    Wat een heerlijke website en wat een goede recepten, Mmm… Ik maak vaak speculaasjes met oude vormen. De groeven in de vorm moeten behoorlijk diep zijn, willen de patroontjes er niet ‘uitbakken’, zoals bij je mooncakes gebeurd is. Hetzelfde gebeurde mij toen ik probeerde met schattige Duitse lebkuchenvormpjes speculaas te maken – bijna alle schitterende details verdwenen! Lebkuchendeeg kan die fijne versieringen wel hebben. De oudhollandse vorm van een platvis, die ik in hetzelfde rommelwinkeltje vond, deed het dan wel weer goed. Bovendien was die zo vaak gebruikt dat het hout helemaal glad was gesleten en de koeken (de vorm is nogal groot) er zonder problemen uitwipten. Is jouw deeg voor gevulde speculaas zachter dan voor gewone speculaas?

  19. Robin says:

    Leuk dat je zelf speculaasjes bakt en verschillende vormen gebruikt. Ik dacht altijd dat lebkuchen eerder op taai-taai lijkt? En bij taai-taai lopen de patroontjes ook wel uit, maar lijken ze erop getekend te zijn. Evengoed best leuk. Zou ik volgend jaar eens kunnen proberen, taaitaai mooncakes. :-)

    En over het deeg, ja, ik ben dus geen expert, ik zou eens gewone speculaasje moet maken om het verschil te zien. En uitzoeken of het recept dan anders is, maar ik dacht van niet. Later realiseerde ik me dat als je gevulde speculaas koopt die ook altijd een beetje vochtig is, meer als een gevulde koek dan als een speculaasje, toch? En die dikke speculaasbrokken, die wel knapperig zijn, maar dik, die hebben meestal ook een gebarsten bovenkant. Dus mijn theorie was eigenlijk dat als je mooie patroontjes wilt hebben het koekje niet te dik mag zijn. Maar misschien waren de groefjes ook niet diep genoeg, dat kan ook. Misschien dat ik dat ooit nog eens uit ga testen. Vullen met deeg en na het storten voorzichting aan de bovenkant een dunne “lap” afsnijden. Want ik denk wel dat ze te dik zijn voor gewone speculaasjes. Dan zou je speculaasbrokken krijgen en volgens mij eigen theorietje dus uitlopen en barsten.

  20. eva cooper says:

    klinkt geweldig, heb al zolang geen speculaas of amandelspijs gehad… dat is waar ik woon niet te verkrijgen. ben benieuwd of ik cardamom kan krijgen…

  21. B.A. says:

    Nog een comment dan :-).
    Een paar weken geleden ook eens gemaakt, volgens dit recept (ik herken een bevel als me dat gegeven wordt).
    En toen kwam ik erachter dat ons digitaal Inventum-weegschaaltje een beetje raar is. Toen ik ongeveer drie vierde van het doosje kruidnagel erop gegooid had (inhoud twaalf gram, maar was al aangebroken) bleef hij nog steeds op nul gram staan. Ik vertrouwde het dus niet meer en heb toen zelf maar wat schattingen gemaakt. Waardoor het geheel zeer sterk gekruid was. Zeer sterk.
    En die suiker had ik natuurlijk ook niet dus maar rietsuiker gebruikt. Achteraf gezien had ik beter bruine basterdsuiker kunnen gebruiken trouwens. Verder kon ik zo snel geen kardamondingen vinden dus heb ik maar poeder gebruikt.
    En ik had blind wat ingrediënten ingekocht zonder heel goed te lezen zoals die smerige Amaretto. En ik kwam later ook wat kant en klaar amandelspijs tegen, ook maar gekocht zodat ik het drankje niet meer nodig had. Heb er wel een hele zondag een nare kater aan over gehouden.
    Het deeg was erg stevig, het had wel ietsjes vochtiger gekund misschien: het lukte me iig niet om het mooi uit te rollen. Wel platgekregen uiteindelijk en in een siliconenvorm een taartje gemaakt.
    Ik denk dat ik hem uiteindelijk iets te lang heb laten bakken, aangezien het vrij hard was (in vergelijking met de in de detailhandel vrij verkrijgbare varianten): het komt zacht uit de oven dus dan ben ik al snel geneigd te denken: ‘O het kan nog wel wat hebben’, maar dat is dus niet nodig. Het droogt op. Ik ben niet zo ervaren met bereiden van zoetigheden.
    Het goede nieuws is dat we er ondanks alles hebben we een week smakelijk van hebben gegeten. Als er ooit een volgende keer komt doe ik de kruiden iets anders en bak hem ietsjes korter. Of wacht ik misschien een weekje en maak het amandelspijs zelf.

  22. Robin says:

    Hahahaha! Lig echt in een deuk. :-)

    Het deeg lijkt hier ook altijd te stijf. Maar even uitrollen en bewegen en het wordt super soepel.

    Mijn digitale weegschaal is ook niet zo goed, dus heb ik tijdje terug voor best een schappelijke prijs (tientje of zo, twintig hooguit) deze aangeschaft:

    Citric Acid

    En de baktijd vind ik ook moeilijk. Heb het een paar keer gemaakt en het resultaat varieert. Ene keer “ongaar” deeg, wat op zich nog best eetbaar en lekker is, andere keer wel gaar. Keihard heb ik het nog niet meegemaakt. Maar 1 ding is zeker, pâtisserie is een vak apart, daar valt niet mee te spotten.

    Het leukste van dit recept vind ik dat het zoveel meer karakter heeft dan wat je bij supermarkt en banketbakker koopt. Juist door de kruiden en de amaretto.

  23. androxa says:

    This is the best recipe I found on the internet ..been searching for ages for a good one. I am originally from Holland but havent been there for 14 years now. Thank you !! :-)

  24. Robin says:

    Thank you, that’s good to hear. :-)
    So did you try it already? How did your family like it? Or were they already familiar with this dutch treat?

  25. androxa says:

    I made the amandelspijs a few days ago and letting it ripen till the weekend , tomorrow I am going to make the dough and use it on saturday. I will take photos (if i make it good ) :-) and post it on my blog linking of course to you !!!
    my partner never had food outside romania before and hasnt been abroad yet. I lived in the usa ,nederlandse antillen , nederland of course and before I came here lived 2 years in finland and before that 10 years in ireland …so i got a good bit of international cooking experience to show her …and now she hardly eats romanian anymore :-) Oh yeah ..I am a chef too :-)

  26. Robin says:

    I’m anxiously waiting for your feedback or blogpost. Now I’m fearing it didn’t work out!

  27. androxa says:

    :-) well I made it ..but i didnt post the photos.. i made it in a too big baking tin ..so it melted out more and was flatter..was my own fault should have used a little one…but i didnt read good ..i reckoned the dough would be more like a sweet pastry…Will make it again ..and then it will be perfect ..will let you know when i do it and post :-)

  28. Robin says:

    Oh dear, I hope it will work out better next time.

  29. androxa says:

    Im sure it will be fine next time :-) smaller tray and its perfect !!! the taste was great though..I havent had this for over14-15 years !! made a double recipe and it was gone in two days between the two of us :-)

  30. Catherine Katt says:

    I needed the amandelspijs recipe for Normandy Apple Taart from Sabinakookt!. Yours was the easiest that I found. Thanks!

  31. Robin says:

    You’re welcome. Glad I could help. :-)
    Hope the apple pie turned out nice!

  32. René Koop says:

    Hoi Robin,

    Dat zier er heerlijk uit! Ik wilde je even laten weten dat je een erg mooi blog hebt met mooie heldere foto’s!

  33. Robin says:

    Oh, dank je wel, René,dat is aardig van je!

  34. Girlie says:

    Hi Robin,
    A very big thanks from me, my husband and his parents for this wonderful recipe!!! I am not dutch but my husband is… and he has been asking me to bake something like this ever since, just tried baking normal speculaas at the beginning of december and yesterday we tasted your recipe and it was wonderful!, my almost 2 year old daughter loved it. I will need to do this again next week and another 3 times of the recipe for them to take home to netherlands :)

    Happy New Year to you and your family! Again big thanks!!!

  35. Robin says:

    Ah, thank you so much for your feedback. It’s nice to hear you all enjoyed the “gevulde speculaas”. :-)

Leave a comment