Piperade with smoked peppers

Cute piperadeI don’t know why bell peppers (paprika’s in dutch) hardly ever seem to play the leading role in (my) recipes, but in this Spanish inspired recipe they do. It’s not the quickest recipe, but it is easy and you can do most of it well in advance and pop it in the oven just before serving. Normally I make 1 or 2 medium size ovendishes, but today I used tiny little pots and quail eggs instead of chicken eggs. So it wasn’t just delicious, it looked cute too.

 

RECIPE

600g pointed, red peppers (any color or size will do)
1 onion, thinly sliced
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
2 dl passata
handful of basil, sliced
2 eggs
4 t cream
pinch cayenne pepper

Wash the peppers. Cut off the head and slice lengthwise in half.
If you have a stovetop smoker, smoke the peppers (skin sides up) for about 10-15 minutes. But don’t worry, without smoking them the result will be worthwhile too. Or maybe you could add some Spanish smoked paprika.
Take peppers out and slice in 5mm thin slices.
Slowly saute the onion and garlic in some oil for about 5 minutes until translucent.
Add the sliced peppers and saute for another 5-10 minutes.
Add the passata, season with salt & pepper (or chickenstock powder) and simmer for 5 minutes.
Divide the mixture in 1 or 2 oven dishes.
Push a hole/ditch in the middle and carefully break an egg in it.
Add 1 or 2 teaspoons of cream and a dash of cayennepepper.
Put in a 180°C oven for about 12-15 minutes.
If the mixture was prepared before and cold I would heat it up (in the oven) before adding the egg. But that’s because I like my egg to be runny.

Serve with bread or pasta.

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Piperade with smoked peppers

  1. Victoria says:

    I am English but recently moved to NL (Breda to be precise). I see these tiny little pots in the shops here and I wonder what on earth they are for! Too big for a starter recipe and too small for a main course. This recipe looks tasty though. Maybe I will invest in some of the dishes.

  2. Robin says:

    I always felt the same, until I saw these in an Action store. Very cheap, so not really an “investment” anymore. I’m not sure I would buy them if they were more expensive, because this was actually the first time I used them. ;-)
    I was planning to serve 1-person hotpots and stews in them. Or potato gratin. Looks a lot cuter than 1 big pot.

Leave a comment