Spanish Potatoes

Spanish Smoked Paprika Potatoes

The deep and warm flavour of spanish smoked paprika can be overpowering in some dishes. This is one recipe in which I think it works beautifully. Together with the corianderseeds and saffron it really makes something special of a simple bowl of potatoes. You can use any kind of new potatoes, I like them small and in the skin (“krieltjes” in dutch) but still cut in half to absorb more flavour.
In winter I love them mixed with brussels sprouts, for summers I haven’t found the perfect vegetable match yet. But it goes well with just about any kind of grilled meat.


RECIPE

Strifry for about 2 minutes:
500 gram of small potatoes (cut in half/wedges)

Add and stirfry for another minute :
3 chopped cloves of garlic

Then add
1,5 T tomato purée
1 T corianderseeds
(crush them a little to release flavour)
a few sprigs of saffron
1 t hot spanish smoked (hot) paprika
enough water/stock
to cover the potatoes (about 5dl)

Cook on really high heat. The sauce should reduce until thick and sticky. The timing depends on the size of  your potatoes, but be aware that due to the acidity of the sauce, it can take a little longer than you’re accustomed to. 

If you want to add cooked brussels sprouts, like I do in winter, it’s better to keep it more liquid and thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch.

Recipe borrowed from : A passion for Vegetables by Paul Gayler.

Spanish potatoes with brussels sprouts

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in Potatoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spanish Potatoes

  1. Yvon says:

    Lekker! Zo krijg je mij/ons wel aan de aardappelen, die zelden op het menu staan. De groente erbij… verse tuinbonen? In Andalusië was dat bijna standaard het bijgerecht.

  2. Kok Robin says:

    Oh, daar had ik nog niet aan gedacht. Dat zou inderdaad wel eens heel lekker kunnen zijn. En dan gewoon “enkel” gedopte. Ga ik gauw eens proberen.

  3. Yvon says:

    De Spanjaarden doppen ze ook niet dubbel, ik wel. Niet zo kapot van dat taaie velletje.

  4. Kok Robin says:

    Ik vermoed dat ze het zonder dat velletje af zullen leggen tegen deze stoere aardappelen. Daar blijft dan niets van over. Zonde. Kan je er net zo goed erwten doorgooien. Wat op zich denk ik ook wel zou passen, bedenk ik me nu, ware het niet dat ik een hekel aan erwten heb. ;)
    Maar dat is meer “psychisch”, dus me misschien toch eens overheen zetten. Oh nee, eerst gewoon met die tuinbonen proberen.

  5. Kevin says:

    Those potatoes sound tasty.

  6. Kok Robin says:

    Thanks.

  7. Andrea says:

    I love the sound of these potatoes but I’m a novice cook and am a little confused by your ingredients list. Am I right in thinking that where you’ve used a capital T you mean a tablespoon and where you’ve used a lower case t you mean a tea spoon?

  8. Robin says:

    Yep! That’s right. And on the main page (https://kokrobin.wordpress.com), there is a column at the right where I made a little note, saying
    1 T = 1 tablespoon = 15 ml
    1 t = 1 teaspoon = 5 ml

    Somehow I never make mistakes seeing a big T or small t, but get confused all the time when I read tbsp and tsp. So that’s why I prefer it this way.

  9. ronold big'wood says:

    i like the look ov these potatoes, and will be trying this recepie out tomoro nite for my family, however the thought ov adding brussle sprouts to a suppossedly authentic spanish dish is rather queer.

  10. Robin says:

    Yes, you’re absolutely right. But I just really think they go well together. :-)
    You can of course leave them out. That would make it more authentic. Or substitute with peas or broad beans if you still like the idea of adding your vegetables.

  11. Elena Mai Maruzzo says:

    Hi,

    I am collecting potato recipes for our e-book. Can I include this recipe? And in return, you will receive credit and thanks for allowing us to use the recipe and we will encourage our readers to visit your website.

    I hope for your kind consideration. Thanks.

    Warm Regards,
    Elena Mai

  12. Robin says:

    Yes, if you’ll encourage readers to visit my website by adding a direct link you’re welcome to use this recipe. Good luck with your e-book.

Leave a comment