Steamed Salmon with Black Beans

Salmon

Up until a few years ago I didn’t even like salmon. And today I have no less than 3 absolute favourite salmon recipes to choose from. The first one comes from Ken Hom. It’s easy to prepare, although for some it’s probably already too much trouble. But I can assure you it’s worthwhile. And because you can do a lot of the preperation on forehand, it’s an ideal dish to make if you have guests for dinner. It’s light and fresh and pure and delicious. The sauce/liquid is lovely with simple steamed white rice.

 

THE RECIPE

450g fresh salmon fillets

Rinse and dry the salmon.
Place on a heatproof plate.

2 T black beans, rinsed and chopped
1½ T garlic, chopped
1 T fresh ginger, finely chopped or grated

Mix the above together and divide over the fillets.

Steamed Salmon with Fermented Black Beans

1½ T shaoxing ricewine
1 T light soy sauce

Mix the ricewine and soy and pour over the fillets.
Put the salmon in your steamer and steam for about 8-10 minutes. They should/could be slightly underdone. After that, sprinkle with

3 T spring onions, chopped
1 T coriander, chopped

Heat 1½ T peanutoil until steaming and carefully pour over the salmon, or actually over the spring onions and coriander. 

NB Dit recept kun je ook in het Nederlands lezen op: Aziatische-ingrediënten.nl

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in Salmon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steamed Salmon with Black Beans

  1. Timo says:

    I have exactly the right piece of salmon left from a dinner I cooked. I will definitely try this recipe tomorrow!

  2. Kok Robin says:

    Cool! I hope you’ll like it. I can’t imagine you won’t though. :)
    Be sure to make a photo!

Leave a comment