Tempeh Kering

Tempeh Kering

I used to order this side dish every time I went for take-away at my indonesian toko in Rijswijk (Toko Pasar Makan). Until they changed the recipe! So then I had to recreate it myself and I think with the recipe below I’m getting close. You can serve it hot or cold, as part of your dinner or as a snack. With a nice cold beer, beats a bag of crisps anytime.


RECIPE

400g tempeh
5 red chilipeppers (lombok)
5 shallots
3 cloves of garlic
1 piece of fresh galanga (about 3 cm)
½ t tamarindepulp
2 T gula Jawa (or brown sugar)
1 t caster sugar
salt (or chickenstockpowder)

Slice the tempeh in small stripes. Deepfry in portions at 170°C for about 4 minutes until golden brown and crisp. They should really be crisp and golden al the way through. So it’s best to test one before you take them all out.

Make a nice currypaste (boemboe) from the chopped sjalots, garlic and galanga. (I use a blender)
Fry the currypaste in 2 T oil until fragrant. (about 3 minutes)
Add the chopped chillies after about a minute.
Add the tamarind, gula jawa, sugar and salt and stirfy for another 3 minutes.
Be carefull not to burn the sugar.
Add the tempe and stirfry for another 2 minutes.

The tempeh should be coated with this dry but sticky, sweet, sour and spicy paste.

NB. Dit recept kun je nu ook in het Nederlands lezen op: Aziatische-ingrediënten.nl

Deepfrying Tempeh Kering

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in Tofu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tempeh Kering

  1. Jurgen says:

    Ai, very tasty, have had it before but forgot about it. Thanks, I will make it this weekend…

  2. Ferry says:

    Lijkt ook erg op het recept voor Kentang Goreng. Enige probleem dat ik altijd heb is dat ik de saus te heet laat worden waardoor de suiker aanbrandt. Heb je daar nog tips voor? (behalve het vuur heel laag zetten)

  3. Robin says:

    Ja, nee, sorry. Ik zou zeggen, met je neus er bovenop blijven zitten. En goed kijken. Je kunt het zien en ruiken als het carameliseert. En dat is het moment om het gauw van het vuur te halen.

    Maar ja, dat klinkt makkelijker gezegd dan gedaan. Ik weet wel, bij dit recept is het resultaat bij mij toch vaak weer een beetje anders, de ene keer gecarameliseerder dan de andere keer. Maar als je echte gulu djawa gebruikt is het zelfs “ongecarameliseerd”, dus slechts gesmolten, lekker.

  4. Ferry says:

    Gisteren gemaakt en gelukt! Lekker plakkerig, maar niet aangebrand.

    Wel heb ik je recept aangepast, want ik had én tempeh én kentang goreng gemaakt. Met echte gula java natuurlijk. Bij de kentang heb ik je lomboks vervangen door rawits en nog wat kencur + djahe toegevoegd om het iets zoeter te maken.

    En ja, echte indo’s proeven het verschil tussen lombok-heet en rawit-heet.

  5. Robin says:

    Ik ben geen indo en proef dat verschil ook heus wel!
    Vandaar dat ik liever spaanse pepers/lomboks gebruik. Mij te heet, die rawits. ;)

  6. e_ja says:

    all the foods look very yummy..:)..must try!!

  7. Moritz says:

    Ik ga jouw recept ook een keer proberen. Wij kopen het altijd bij toko mitrailleur in Utrecht. Erg verslavend lekker!

  8. Robin says:

    Ben benieuwd. Laat je weten hoe het beviel?

  9. Nichols says:

    Ik dacht nog; is typisch een recept van kokkie belanda, maar nee hoor;-)

  10. Alwin says:

    After combining all the ingredients together I spread it out on an oven tray and put it on low heat to let it ‘dry out’. Safe way to avoid the gula Jawa to burn and guaranteed crispy.

Leave a Reply

