Green Curry Paste

Ingredients Thai Green Curry Paste

I know it’s easier to just buy green (or red) currypaste in a jar. But I think it’s fun to make some yourself. This way you know for sure what’s in it. No oil, for example. And you can increase the amounts of your favourite ingredient. In my case, galangal (Laos in dutch). I just love the smell of galangal and I know that in many currypastes this is replaced with ginger. Don’t get me wrong, I like ginger too, but in my currypaste I like the frangrance of fresh galangal. And corianderroot! Oh, I think it’s really worthwhile to make your own paste. It’s not difficult and you can freeze it in little bags, ready to use whenever you feel like Thai Green Curry. Just as convenient as from a jar, only so much better.

RECIPE

14 fresh green rawit peppers
5 cloves garlic
150 gr chopped shallot
1 T finely chopped lemongrass (not in picture)
3 slices of galangal/laos
limezest from 1 lime
6-8 fresh corianderroots
freshly ground white pepper
1/2 t shrimppaste or 2 anchovies from a can
1 t ground cuminseeds
1 t ground corianderseeds

Put everything in a blender and blend until it’s a paste. Add a few tablespoons of water if necessary. But only if shaking the blender vigorously while blending doesn’t work. You should try to minimize the amount of water you add.

Recipe from: Curry Bible by Madhur Jaffrey.
Also read: my recipe for/with Green Curry or the one for
red curry paste
.
Nu ook in het Nederlands: Thaise groene curry

Making Green Thai Curry Paste

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in Homemade and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Green Curry Paste

  1. actually,you can add deseeded green chilli peppers and thai basil leaves(kemangi) to enhance the green colour n yet the flavour

Leave a Reply

