Kecap Manis

Kecap Manis

 

Kecap Manis is a thick, sweet, indonesian soysauce.
In the Netherlands you can find the above brands.

Which is best?

I think ABC-brand is the best.  (second from the left in photo)

Serving suggestions:
* Babi ketjap (Indonesian sweet, stewed pork)
* Cold soba-noodle salad with salmon and cucumber

About Robin

I love to cook. Check out my dutch website: Aziatische-ingredienten.nl
This entry was posted in From the shop, Which is Best? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kecap Manis

  1. where do you buy the ABC brand ? I think we are using the one on the left in the white bottle, which is also for sale in a bottle half its size.

  2. kokrobin says:

    I bought it at the Shopping Centre Oriental here in Rotterdam.
    But later I saw it at the Albert Heijn Supermarket as well.

  3. Yvon says:

    De ABC is lekker stroperig, bij de toko haal ik ook kaki tiga, dat werd aangeraden maar ik kan niet zeggen dat ik nu zo’n enorm verschil proef.

  4. Kok Robin says:

    Ken ik niet. En als het niet zoveel verschil maakt ga ik het ook niet proberen. (denk ik, maar ik zeg nooit nooit :-) )
    Ik gebruik het niet zo vaak als de chinese en japanse sojasaus. Eigenlijk alleen voor babi kecap.

  5. chindo4life says:

    Als geboren en getogen chinees/indo (chindo) zeg ik, dump allevier deze ketjap’s en koop: cap bango (http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/indomerchant_2072_15133224)

    Te koop in de chinese supermarkt of de betere toko. Deze ketjap is zoet en stroperig, maar heeft een nasmaak die klopt. Geliefd bij mijn familie in indonesië, ze zweren hierbij.

    Plaatje geeft het kleine flesje aan, ik koop het bij Xotus in Delft, waar de kleine flesjes goedkoper zijn per liter dan de 750ml flessen. Dus koop die kleintjes is mijn advies!

  6. Robin says:

    Oh, echt nog nooit van gehoord. Ik ga bij mijn volgende tokobezoek meteen goed opletten. Als ie inderdaad lekkerder is zal ik ‘m er gauw bijzetten! Bedankt voor de tip.

  7. Robin says:

    Oh, ik zie nu ook pas dat ik kaki tiga er nooit meer bij heb gezet. Wat suf. Dat zal ik dan ook meteen recht zetten.

  8. Maninas says:

    I second that, too! ABC is amazing. Previously I had the one next to it on the right, but it’s a pale shadow of the ABC one!

Leave a Reply

